Home

I’m all for affordable health care, but how do we get there from here?

Just got a note from Blue Cross – my healthcare coverage provider. I don’t want my premiums to go up, do I? This coverage for everyone is all well and good in theory, but I might want to reconsider supporting an idea that is going to cost me more money. We don’t want to rush into this. They – Blue Cross, are “partnering” with the Coalition for Responsible Healthcare Reform, and I can join at no cost – registration activation code provided.

So I checked it out. The Who We Are page is a loooong list of businesses, business owners, insurance agents, but no mention of Blue Cross (it does say partial list).

This has been a huge festering problem for years. If it has Blue Cross all riled up, there must be some serious action going on. Not like them to send out extra paper.

BTW – we moved and I wanted to change my address. I called but after following the automated phone system for several minutes, I was informed that there would be a 19 minute wait for a customer “service” rep.

Fred Hickey, in his recent newsletter said his healthcare had gone up 20% this year, after a 21% increase last year. That is now his largest single personal cost item. He lives in New Hampshire. It is only because we live in the Bay Area with high housing costs that healthcare is a close second, rather than the biggest item for us.

Even Chris Dodd, the presidential hopeful, is into affordable healthcare.

The Dodd plan will create a health insurance marketplace called Universal HealthMart that is based on, and parallel to, the Federal Employees Health Benefits Plan (FEHBP).

Where all this is going isn’t clear. But at least there is talk…

